From the Richmond Dispatch, 3/9/1866, p. 1, c. 4
NEW BUILDINGS. – We learn that Mr. John Asher, of the firm of Donnan & Co., designs erecting a handsome four-story iron-front store on Main street just above the clothing store of Mr. William Ira Smith. The firm, Messrs. Donnan & Co., have leased the lot just below the block owned by Mr. John Graeme, on the south side of Main, between Twelfth and Thirteenth streets, and have bought the two lots intervening between that and the building of Messrs. Steenbock & Co. On the first-mentioned they intend building a handsome house this season, and they will build on the other two as soon as possible.
When we look around and see so many handsome buildings erected, and in progress of erection, where all was eleven months ago in ruins, and think that then ready money sufficient to build one of those houses could not be raised, we cannot but boast of our city. Eleven months ago we were almost utterly ruined, and now one can see on Main and Cary streets buildings that vie with those of richer cities that know but little of war, and nothing of its ruinous effects. “The work goes bravely on,” and we hope the time is not far off when a visitor will have to inquire, “Where was the Burnt District?”